You don’t get what you don’t ask for

Someone a lot smarter than me said this to me at my first job and it has stuck with me ever since.  

You never get what you don’t ask for.  Case in point- homeless guy on the street that I met tonight. Here’s the story.

I’m out of town on business.  Salt Lake City to be exact.  My coworker and I are walking down the street and I make eye contact with a homeless guy sitting on the side of the road.  Here’s our dialogue:

HG: “do you have any spare change?”  

Me: “sorry no, but are you hungry?  I’m headed to grab a bite and can bring you a sandwich if you like.”

HG: “I’m starving and would love a hot sandwich.  Turkey please.”

Me: “You got it.  Be back in an hour.”

HG: “thank you. And avocado slices and mayonnaise.”

Me: “sure”

My coworker and I grab a bite, put in a to-go order, and walk back to our hotel.  Along the road is our homeless guy.  I hand him the sandwich, he thanks me, and I turn to walk away.  He then asks “sir, do you mind buying me a soda to go with the sandwich.”  Sure enough- I bought him a his soda.

Case in point, you do not get what you do not ask for.  I offered to buy this guy a sandwich, because he asked, he got the following; 

1. Warmed Turkey sandwich  2.  Avocado slices  3.  Mayo  4.  Soda

I could have easily gotten a sandwich for him and he would have been satisfied.  But he had the audacity to ask for what he wanted.  And…he got want he wanted because asked.

Leave a Reply

